Poll: Who should be the next Bulldog to take off their jersey?


Fresno State to retire the No.22 jersey in honor of running back Lorenzo Neal, one of the Bulldogs’ all-time greats and a 16-year-old NFL veteran who is recognized as one of the top full-backs blockers in its history.

Neal will join former Bulldogs quarterback Kevin Sweeney, running back Dale Messer, kicker Vince Petrucci and wide receiver Henry Ellard, who were the first to be honored in 2000 on Saturday. Quarterback Trent Dilfer was the next to join the select squad in 2001, a few weeks after leading the Baltimore Ravens to a Super Bowl XXXV victory, then quarterbacks David Carr in 2007 and Derek Carr in 2017.

Fresno State President Dr Joseph Castro, left, poses with Derek Carr and retired Carr’s No.4 jersey during halftime of the Bulldogs’ season opener over Incarnate Word on Saturday September 2, 2017 at Bulldog Stadium ERIC PAUL ZAMORA [email protected]

But who’s next?

The athletics department for years had only a vague set of guidelines, but now has a set of criteria to meet. Athletes become eligible 10 years after their last match or match and they must have obtained at least two university letters, be recognized in the conference, region, nationally or internationally, be a current or former record holder at one of these levels and have demonstrated leadership in their team at Fresno State.

Here’s your chance to vote on who should be the next player to be honored by college, choosing from a list of seven former Bulldogs. Voting ends at 1 p.m. on Saturday. To vote again in the unscientific poll, tap Refresh.

Stories related to Fresno Bee


Comments are closed.